Inspiration : The Great Gatsby

2012GreatGatsby

image from here

I was so excited to see a new trailer for the Great Gatsby last week!  You can watch it here. It was set to open in theaters this month I believe, but has been pushed back to March.  This movie is like a dream come true for me.  I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love this book and with Baz Lurhmann as the director – I can’t think of a better combination.  And to top it off – Muccia Prada is the costume designer! It might be the perfect movie.

In honor of the movie (and just because we love themed parties) my friend Karen and I decided our holiday party (that we host every year with Eric) would be Great Gatsby themed.  I think we did a pretty good job considering our limited funds (I just opened HOME, she’s saving for a car/house whatever comes first, and we are GOING TO PARIS next month) and limited time (again…I just opened HOME).  Noone should ever leave the photo taking duties to us because we are terrible.  As in we don’t take any.  Especially when we’ve had a few too many glasses of champagne.  Here are some taken by Eric.

_MG_5081

_MG_5100

_MG_5093

_MG_5099

Also, how awesome are our friends?  I think 90% of the people that came showed up in costume.  Everybody was having fun with my feathered jacket – I don’t even have a photo of myself in it!

FeatherCoat

As usual, we ended with a dance party (including many attempts at the worm…a lot harder to do than you might think!) and some late night snacks (aka cheesesteaks).  I had to be at the store for a few hours the following day, but took a nap on the couch with Badgie as soon as I got home!

_MG_5112

Leave a Reply

