Before & After | vintage settee

” Cher’s main thrill in life is a makeover, it gives her a sense of control in a world full of chaos.” – Dionne

So many good quotes from Clueless but this one actually (sort of) relates to the topic of today’s post.  Who doesn’t love a good makeover, right?  I’m sure Cher preferred the kind of makeover that involved a new hairstyle, clothing and makeup but a makeover of a room or piece of furniture is just as good…and sometimes even better.  I’m a BIG fan of vintage, from jewelry to clothing to furniture.  The great thing about shopping vintage is that you can find something that’s one of a kind – or at least something that your neighbor or coworker most likely won’t also have.  And the wonderful thing with vintage furniture  is that good deals are out there if you look hard enough.  Many times it’s cheaper to buy vintage and do a makeover on it than to buy something brand new.  And in the end, you’ll definitely be left with something that is unique.  Plus it means one less thing going into a landfill (yay to being green!).  To avoid looking costume-y or theme-y, pair vintage with more modern pieces for contrast.  I believe a room has more character when styles are mixed together.  One of the worst things you can do is create a space that is too matchy matchy and looks like you bought a room scene from a store catalog.  You have more style than that.  And if you don’t, you can hire me to give you some:)

Today’s makeover involves a vintage settee that I found on Craigslist.  Settees are not the most practical pieces of furniture – which is probably why I love them.  I’m not known for my practicality.  Although they may not necessarily be the best option if you are looking for something comfy and loungey, they would work perfectly in a little sitting area, in a luxurious walk in closet, at the foot of a bed, or even as seating at a dining table.  Here is the before:

settee_before

Pretty ugly.  But if you look past the terrible paint job and awful fabric, you can see a piece that’s just waiting to be transformed.  I had some non believers out there.  You know who you are (Eric).  And my mom.  Who actually was sweet enough to go pick it up for me, but almost left without it because she just couldn’t believe I would actually pay money for it.

I knew straightaway that the wood should be painted white and that I wanted a patterned fabric for the back and a solid for the seat.  Velvet is my current obsession and Osborne & Little makes the most beautiful patterned velvets that I’ve come across.  They are pretty pricey, but I decided to splurge since only a yard was needed to do the back of the settee.  I was able to find a lovely but more affordable solid velvet for the seat.  This is the pattern I decided on … isn’t it gorgeous?  Since I’m no expert when it comes to reupholstery, the settee was sent to a professional and came back as this:

after_setteefront

after_setteeback

So much better!  It looks fresh and definitely has more of a modern feel to it now – it’s become a transitional piece.  It can work in a home that has a more traditional aesthetic or one that you would call more contemporary.  These are my favorite kinds of pieces.  A detail about the settee that I’m so happy with is the back.  I love that it looks beautiful from any angle.  The contrasting blue trim around the bottom of the seat also makes it a little different and gives it an extra sassy-ness.

ps This piece is currently for sale at HOME – come check it out at the store or feel free to message me if interested!

3 comments

  1. Pingback: let’s welcome {HOME} |


Leave a Reply

