A Happy Weekend

This weekend was one of the most beautiful we’ve had in Philly so far this year.  It was sunny and warm – but not sweltering.  And lovely to be out in the city.  On Saturday, my friend Emily Stabile put up her art at the shop and I have to say her pieces look amazing in our space…

EmilyArt1 instagram1 instagram2

We had a little reception for her at the shop…

party

It was a really fun night and a big thank you to all who stopped by!  And look what we have in the shop right now…

peony

peony2

They’re so beautiful they almost don’t look real.  I love peonies so much.  I also love Cambodian food and there’s finally a pretty good one close to us in South Philly called Khmer Kitchen.  Eric and I tried to go last night with some friends but they were so busy they couldn’t take any more seatings:(  We ended checking out Ratchada – which used to be Café de Laos.  And honestly, besides very slight changes to their interior, everything is pretty much the same (menu included).  I loved Café de Laos, so I didn’t mind!  It’s a byob and is a mix of Thai and Laotian cuisine.  We started out with a few different orders of papaya salad – spicy Thai style, spicy Laos style, mild Laos style.  We all thought the Thai style was best – the Laos style was overwhelmingly fishy, even for me!

papayasalad

thai papaya salad

For my main dish, I ordered Pad Kee Mao (Drunken Noodles) with shrimp.  They were rice noodles stir fried with a delicious sauce of basil, tomatoes, onions, red peppers and green beans…

meal

I love the combination of sweet, salty and spicy and this dish had all three – perfect.  I had a taste of my friend’s dish of duck curry and it was amazing.  I will definitely be ordering that next time!  We ended the meal with some dessert (try the Thai tea ice cream!) and Chandon sparkling rose…

rose

This might be my new favorite sparkling wine.  Besides being very tasty, it’s pink, bubbly and at $18/bottle, very affordable!  It was a great way to end a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

