A Birthday Picnic

candles

In my opinion, a surprise party is the best kind of party.  Being someone who is almost impossible to surprise – it happened once and I was so touched that I cried for about 10 minutes straight, and let me tell you that gets a little awkward when it lasts that long – I really appreciate a good, real surprise.  I’ve thrown quite a few surprise parties and I’m pretty darn good at it…some may say sneaky…but everybody appreciates it in the end!  A good friend of mine, Deepti, turned 33 recently and we wanted to do something special to celebrate.  A surprise picnic in the park was planned but unfortunately we got rained out and had to move it indoors…

_MG_5756

This was one of the most low key, easy parties I’ve thrown.  There was minimal crafting, cooking, purchasing.  Besides food, the only thing I had to purchase were the striped pillow cases – which were inexpensive and I can now use them on my bed.  Believe it or not, I had everything else (although if you’ve seen my basement, it wouldn’t be difficult to believe).  The floral blanket is actually a (very large) fabric sample I got in for the shop and I layered it over a greige knit blanket.  The pillows added a bit of comfort and luxury and I love the stripes with the floral print.  A few sparkly pillows were thrown in and everybody knows a good picnic is nothing without a touch of fur (or is that just me?).  And there were lots and lots and lots of candles – everything looks better with candlelight.

_MG_5755

The one thing that did take some effort and time were the watermelon margaritas.  But once you have one, you’ll understand why you just spent the past hour juicing limes and grinding up watermelon chunks.  I’m not sure how you can really find a shortcut for this recipe though – unless you can find fresh watermelon juice out there.  Here’s the recipe:

– 6 cups watermelon juice

– 1 1/2 cups lime juice (roughly 12 limes)

– 1 cup tequila (or more depending on how boozey you want to get)

– 1/2 cup triple sec

– 1/2 – 1 cup of simple syrup (depending on how sweet you like your drinks)

Mix together and enjoy!  We also enjoyed a tower of champagne…

_MG_5758

_MG_5738

I couldn’t have put together an easier meal – and tasty too!  We ordered lobster rolls from Luke’s Lobster (a crab roll for my husband who doesn’t like lobster…very strange, I know), made a simple salad of tomato, mozzarella and basil, boiled some corn and bought some potato chips.  It was the perfect, summery picnic meal.  And for dessert we had homemade coconut tres leches cake (thanks Colleen!) which was (in Deepti’s favorite adjective) DIVINE.

_MG_5759

_MG_5767

_MG_5770

Even Ruby enjoyed the picnic…

_MG_5749

_MG_5761

And a better picture of us…

_MG_5772

Happy birthday Deepti!  I just know that your 33rd year will be the best yet!

One comment


Leave a Reply

