Honey Garlic Chicken + Pork

We cook a lot of chicken and seafood in our household because, I’ll admit, I’m a big meat-eater and my husband doesn’t eat beef.  For some reason pork rarely makes an appearance, even though we both love it.  Last week I found a recipe for crunchy honey garlic pork chops and it got such good reviews, I had to give it a try.  You can find the recipe here.

4

The pork was dipped in the flour mixture, then into egg wash, then back into flour mixture a second time – I think this double flour-ing makes it extra crunchy.  However, the breading didn’t stay on that well for me.  I think part of the problem was that the oil in my pan didn’t completely cover the pork – next time I’ll use my deep fryer (yes, I actually own one).

5

The best part was the sauce and it made up for the messed up breading.  It reminded me of the garlic soy sauce chicken wings at Café Soho, so I decided to try this recipe out with chicken wings last night…

chicken

This time I used my deep fryer and the chicken turned out amazing!  They were so crispy and delicious.  I added more soy sauce to the garlic sauce since I did think it was slightly too sweet.  Next time I’ll add some siracha to add a little kick.  But I definitely recommend this!  A good option if you can’t make it to North Philly to Café Soho.

 

Leave a Reply

